Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
If the vehicle is registered or titled in another state, and the model of the vehicle is a 2001 or newer, a Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) check is required prior to registering the vehicle in Rhode Island. VIN checks are provided to Bristol residents only.
The fee is $15.00 per vehicle inspected; payable in the form of cash, check or money order.
Please make checks payable to "Town of Bristol". We do not accept Credit/Debit cards.
VIN checks are conducted on:
You will need to bring the vehicle to the police station, along with the title or a copy of the title for the vehicle (unless it is held by a bank or finance company). If the vehicle title is held by a financial institution, a copy of the title can be sent via FAX to the Bristol Police Department at 401-253-1540.
The State of Rhode Island requires a title, or a copy thereof to be presented at the time of the VIN inspection.
Show All Answers
Cost: $10.00 for a local check, $40.00 for a national check. Checks can be made payable to "Town of Bristol" .
It should be noted that you should call 401-253-6900 in advance to see if a qualified officer is on duty to assist you.
Children between the ages of 8 through 12 as a passenger in any seating position shall be properly wearing a safety belt.
The fine for a child riding in the front seat or over 8 years old not in a seat belt is $95.
A violation for transporting a child not in a child restraint system requires an appearance in court.